The IRS isn’t all bad. They want you to know you have rights, and they’ve created a document to help you understand them. Your Rights as a Taxpayer, available in six languages, groups multiple rights spread throughout the tax law into six categories to make them easier to find and understand. 

The Taxpayer Bill of Rights contains 10 provisions. 

  1. The Right to Be Informed
  2. The Right to Quality Service
  3. The Right to Pay No More than the Correct Amount of Tax
  4. The Right to Challenge the IRS’s Position and Be Heard
  5. The Right to Appeal an IRS Decision in an Independent Forum
  6. The Right to Finality
  7. The Right to Privacy
  8. The Right to Confidentiality
  9. The Right to Retain Representation
  10. The Right to a Fair and Just Tax System 

Check out the full document here